Since 2012 the Luxembourg based law firm Arendt & Medernach with offices in Dubai, Hong Kong, London, Moscow and New York has been supporting our association. It considerably contributed to develop a taste for photography and contemporary art in general.

The law firm Arendt & Medernach awards every every second year one visual artist who is part of the common exhibitions that the network is curating throughout Europe.

For Arendt & Medernach, contemporary art is a passion. Since a number of years, the firm is engaged in the art of photography by exhibiting artists from all over the world in its premises situated in Kirchberg, Luxembourg. Works of well-known artists such as David La Chapelle, Beat Streuli, Marie-Jo Lafontaine, Candida Höfer, Günther Förg and Valérie Belin were exhibited along with works of young talents. Progressively, Arendt & Medernach built up its own art collection, representative of the main currents in contemporary photography.
True to its passion, Arendt & Medernach wishes to encourage open-mindedness, diversity and the sharing of emotions. It is thus a great pleasure for Arendt & Medernach to be affiliated with the “European Month of Photography”.

The five artists selected display a deep interest in the complexities of the relationship between Man and nature, each one reconsidering in his or her own way the modes of representation and fictions related to nature and landscape.
Vanja Bucan’s photographs plunge the viewer into a dreamlike, phantasmagorical universe with curiously arranged ecosystems. Inka&Niclas presents disturbed visions of landscapes that are both strange and sublime, while Danila Tkachenko’s photographs of ruined Russian rural villages bear witness to an historical era that has vanished. Anastasia Mityukova’s and Maria-Magdalena Ianchis’ representations of Greenland’s icebergs and icescapes employ different forms of mental and real imagery to create installations of archives and memory which attempt to embody the “stigmata” of the Anthropocene and to fill the void left by photography’s failure to represent the complexity of nature.

EMoP jury members included Paul di Felice (president / Luxb)), Bettina Leidl (vice-president / Vienna) and committee members Emmanuelle Halkin (Paris), Verena Kaspar- Eisert (Vienna) and Rui Prata (Lisbon).